Board of Governors

Governance and Delegation

Emmanuel Schools Foundation (“the Trust”) is legally accountable for every school in the Trust. The CEO is accountable to the Trust for the performance and delivery of the whole organisation. The CEO is advised by the Executive Team who are responsible for finances and resources, and the learning and academic progress of all students. Emmanuel College currently has in place a Local Governing Body. The Principal supported by the LGB, is the vision-holder and driving force responsible for achieving excellence for those in school which he leads and manages. The Chair of the Local Governing Body (LGB) and LGB members have delegated responsibility to discuss and act as ‘critical friends’ in carrying out governance functions to achieve the excellence in all areas of school life.

The processes of decision-making and lines of delegated accountability are set out in the Scheme of Delegation which can be found here.

The Annual Stakeholder Report of the Local Governing Board 2022 – 23 can be found here.

Any letter intended for the Chair of Governors should be addressed to Miss C Taylor, Company Secretary, Trinity House, Sixth Avenue, Blyth, NE24 2SY.

A full list of Governors is shown below:

Name of Governor Role Responsibility Date of appointment
Mr Ross Smith Chairman, Local Governor Stakeholder,  Community Liaison and Ethos 11.10.17
Mrs Judith Sword Vice Chair, Local Governor Safeguarding, Pupil Premium and SEND 15.12.14
Mrs Joy Evans Local Governor Personal Development 03.03.21
Dr Jonathan Harness Local Governor Safeguarding, CP and LAC 03.03.21
Mr Ali David Bianchi Local Governor Ethos 17.05.23
Dr Thomas Smyth Local Governor 15.06.23
Mr John Holton Local Governor 04.07.23
Name Status
Mr Matt Waterfield Principal
Mr Nat Ogborn Head of School
Mr Darren Warburton Finance Director
Miss Christine Taylor Company Secretary

The local governing body appoints each governor after the completion of skills audit to ensure a full comprehensive cohort of governors. The term of office is for the duration of four years after which they may be re-elected.  All governors have been appointed by the Local Governing Body unless otherwise stated. Each governor is required to declare his or her interests which may conflict with the College.

Interests can be found on the attached document. pdfIcon
Governors’ attendance at Local Governing Board meetings can be found in the attached document. pdfIcon

Governance functions are delegated to the Local Governing Body (“LGB”) by the ESF Board.  The details of the delegation are contained within a scheme of delegation which can be found in the Governance section of the ESF website.


The structure of Emmanuel Schools Foundation can be found in the Governance section of the ESF website and the memorandum and articles of association of ESF can be found here.
The Board of Directors can be found here.
The ESF Funding Agreement can be found here.

The current members of Emmanuel Schools Foundation are:- Pastor Kenneth Stone, Dr Beverley Kenny, Mr Stewart McKinlay and Mr Nigel Robson.


If you are interested in becoming a governor, please complete the form below and send it back to us.

ESF Application Form – member, trustee or local governor

Governor – If you are applying to join a particular school within the Foundation.
Trustee – If you are applying to join Emmanuel Schools Foundation.

Sixth Form

The Emmanuel College Curriculum

Vision, Mission and Virtues